Evolution of Family Art

Hey everyone! It’s been quite a while! A lot of things have happened in the last year, I got a new position at work, I started my own board game label, and most importantly we had an amazing baby boy!

My process of making family art has also changed over this period of time! I leaned into something I discovered a while back with Amelia. Amelia drew with white colored pencil over a piece of watercolor paper and I painted over it. A simple idea, but I liked the challenge of painting around her lines and the idea of us collaborating on a piece.

I then had Amelia draw with the colored pencil and had her paint over it herself with sparkly watercolors. I was able to paint over those with some heavier watercolors, and I felt like I was able to push things a little further.

I think I really hit my groove recently though. I had Amelia paint a bunch of watercolor paper for me recently, and I draw over that and paint only in greyscale and white gel pen. I feel like this way I can let Amelia’s work shine through, while layering my vision on top of it. It feels really collaborative, and puts an additional “family” feel into each piece.

I’m excited to see how this style will continue to grow when Leo can participate. There is a lot more art coming, and lots I still have to post.

Thanks for sticking with me this far, I’ll be posting more soon, in the meantime…

Don’t forget to look both ways!

-Eric

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑